Old 09-25-2019, 01:33 PM   #1
Lt. Commander

Default Newbies guide to winterising / winterizing checklist

I know I know another winterising post.. I've read alot of the posts on here and ~10 youtube videos.. I'm going to try winterise the boat myself and I've never done it before. Could you guys please review my steps and provide some additional advice? It would be very much appreciated.

For a start, I've literally put 2 hours on a new outboard leg so not going to change the gear lube for the winter.
It's going to be stored in an insulated shed with other boats/caravans
I'm not sure winterising is really necessary if storing indoors? however I thought I would do it for the experience anyway and a service/learning experience wouldn't hurt either.

Engine is a 1997 Mercruiser 4.3LX. It's only ever been used on freshwater.

Steps:
  1. Heat engine so oil is easier to drain
  2. Drain oil
  3. Change/Fill fuel filter
  4. Change/Fill oil filter
  5. Change spark plugs
  6. Fill back up with oil
  7. Test/Heat engine to operating temp again
  8. (read somewhere that this ensures antifreeze will get to all locations in engine due temp valve opening up releasing air locks?)
  9. Run antifreeze through outdrive until pink stuff comes out exhausts
  10. Pour stabiliser into the fuel tank
  11. Fog engine through Carb until it dies?
  12. Fill up fuel tank to the top to prevent condensation
After the mess:
  1. Wash boat inside and out
  2. Put seat covers on their side
  3. Remove everything else
  4. Make sure Bilge pump is clean/dry
  5. Disconnect / remove battery
Finally
  1. Move boat on trailer to indoor storage location
  2. Try not to miss the boat for 5 months....

Questions:
  • Do I need to drain the antifreeze out of the engine?
  • What Oil & how much do I need roughly for a 4.3L Mercruiser LX?
  • I think 10L should be enough antifreeze?
  • Should I remove snap in carpets? or leave them in it? It will be in a very dry location.