Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Engines
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-28-2010, 07:49 PM   #1
Ensign

Default flushing a 1900sc with 4.3 v6 mercury engine

Hi,

Ive just traded in my yamaha jet ski in for a maxum 1900sc and I'm very new to the motor boat world. When flushing the engine does it matter if the engine is running 1st or water flowing 1st?
Also theres a pump switch on the dash is that used for flushing or something different?

Any feedback would be a great help

Speedy

speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:08 PM   #2
Commander

Water should always be running first. You want to make sure you have good water flow to the rubber impeller before you attempt to start the motor. The switch at the helm is for manually starting the bilge pump. What year is the boat?

MMSI# 338052622
tglee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:04 PM   #3
Lt. Commander

Congrats on the boat and welcome! Like was said above, make sure you have good water flow and that the "muffs" are secure before starting engine. Best to have someone watch to make sure water is flowing out of the "pee holes" while you stand at helm with engine running. When done, shut motor off then shut water off. If flushing after salt water use, IMO, you should run Salt Away through for the last bit. Hope this helps. Enjoy your toy!
New Boat 8/13/11: Chaparral 206SSI with 5.0 VP GXI SX
Prior Boat: 2008 Maxum 1900SR3, 4.3L V6 190HP, Alpha 1 (great boat)
2010 Ford 150 XLT Super Crew 5.4L V-8, tow package
2008 Infiniti G-35
Brianm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 02:01 AM   #4
Lt. JG

Default Is running the motor necessary when flushing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brianm View Post