Old 05-08-2020, 03:36 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Engine troubleshoot help needed please.

I am new to boating and invested in a 1995 Maxum 1800SR for a first boat. However there is an issue I need help diagnosing please. We've taken it on two lakes and getting the boat initially started is fine, but after a while of driving around the lake my son and wife decide they want to stop and swim for a bit. After they're done we get back in the boat and on several occasions it won't start. It sounds like the engine wants to start but won't. It's a inline 4cyc Mercruiser 3.0lx engine. So far I have changed the gear lube and engine oil, changed the spark plugs, distributor cap and rotor. Not sure where else to go from here. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I apologize if this isn't the correct location to post. This is my first time posting in any kind of forum.

wjallenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 12:16 PM   #2
Admiral

Welcome aboard!

Perfect place to post for your issue. Does the engine eventually start and what did you have to do to get it to do so? When this happens have you removed the flame arrestor to see if the choke plate is open? Another thing to check is when you first turn the engine off look into the carb to see if there if fuel dripping.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 11:17 PM   #3
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post
Welcome aboard!

Perfect place to post for your issue. Does the engine eventually start and what did you have to do to get it to do so? When this happens have you removed the flame arrestor to see if the choke plate is open? Another thing to check is when you first turn the engine off look into the carb to see if there if fuel dripping.