Old 09-21-2020, 11:13 PM   #1
Lt. JG

Default Carb Rebuilds vs. EFI Upgrade

I am new to boating and purchased a '98 SCR 3700 with carbed 7.4L engines in July.

Based on my searches here, the topic of swapping out carbs for aftermarket EFI systems seems to come up every few years. My apologies if I have missed a more recent thread. Please feel free to refer to it here.

My boat is having issues and I need to decide next steps. It takes approximately 30 seconds (3 tries of 10 seconds) to start each engine at the beginning of the weekend and there is a very strong smell of gas after shutting them down.

Rebuilding the carbs would be the cheapest solution, but Holley's Sniper systems look very appealing. It would likely eliminate both issues with the added benefit of improved fuel economy.

Two questions:
1) What do people do these days: rebuild the carbs, replace the carbs, or install EFI?
2) The WOT speed of this boat is just over 26 knots. Is that to be expected?

Gerard Hebert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 11:36 PM   #2
Lieutenant

I can't comment on what your WOT speed "should be" for your 37 foot model. All I know is that my 2008 2900 SE with EFI got up to 48 MPH on its sea trial prior to my recent purchase. I'm sure that my boat, at 10,000 #'s without passengers or fuel/water, weighs considerably less than yours. It is powered by 2 x 5.0 L 260 hp Mercs.

Patrick Bodkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 11:44 AM   #3
Captain

Sorry to answer your question with a question, but some more info would be helpful. Have you done a tune up: wires, plugs, caps, rotors? Also taking a look at the condition of your plugs and the inside of your distributor cap would give good info. Sometimes starting problems and fuel odors are caused by poor ignition.
What is your WOT, and what size prop are you running?