Old 07-29-2013, 04:53 PM   #1
Lt. JG

Default Bravo II Prop Slipping, Bad Hub?

When trying to plane out my Port engine (1998 Maxum 3000SCR, Twin 4.3 / Bravo II) seems to vary the RPM a bit, engine shoots right up to around 4000rpm and then fluctuates a 500-750rpm difference, I first thought it was cavitation but then read a lot about the Hubs going bad. This is my first year with this boat but this problem only started happening recently. I have not hit anything and my props look fine. I do not have a trailer to yank the boat out and its close to the end of the season so would like to try an in-water repair if possible, IE. Changing Prop.

First does anyone know what props should be on this boat? I know they are original as I am the second owner, if I could just buy a new prop to try that would be easiest.

Are the hubs removable? I have a press so I would assume if they are not bonded in that they are just pressed in. I can find bravo 1 prop hubs but nothing on bravo 2.

My buddy has a bunch of extra Stainless Bravo 1 props, is the prop hub/exhaust all same locations and maybe I could just put one of his of a similar size on to try it to rule out the bad hub/limp around until I get the correct prop?

Thoughts?

OceanStateTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
Captain

at the dock, with the engine off and the drive in gear, reach down and try to turn the prob by hand, turns-bad, no turns good.

if bad,

stick your head behind the engine with a flash light and look for aluminum and rubber shaving laying all over the steering lines.

if you see this, your engine coupler is sheered, as it is a rubber donut with an aluminum sleeve which attached to the fly wheel.

They last about 10 years, and the engine goto come out to replace.

this is why people sell boats...

pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:27 PM   #3
Commander

Per maxumcustomercare.com, your boat has the following original props for that set-up: