Old 06-25-2019, 06:13 PM   #1
Ensign

Default 2002 3.0 Merc not running on water

Good afternoon all! looking for a little insight or a lot of it. I'm pretty new to boating so I apologize in advance if my terminology is off a bit and sorry for the long winded post but I feel like its best if I put the whole story out there.

Just bought a 2002 Maxum 1800 SR last summer. It ran pretty good 5-6 times I took it on the lake. One day in the late summer I took it out warmed it up and backed it out of the dock area, threw it in forward and got to cruising speed once I hit about half throttle it died. I could not get it started again after that. The season was almost over so I got towed in and took it to a garage where they rebuilt the carb and winterized it. (it apparently ran at that time with the hose hooked up to it).
This spring when I took the cover off apparently I had water frozen down by the engine. when it thawed out I looked everything over but nothing at face value appeared damaged. I was having a hard time getting it running after that, basically it would start but not stay running. So I took it back to the garage, they found a fitting near the top of the gas tank was cracked so I was thinking water got in there. They "drained" water out added some dry gas and got it running. They said it ran for about an hour no issues, I took it back to my house, then hooked the water hose up and tried it myself, It started right up and ran for a solid 20 minutes in neutral, forward and reverse under various throttle positions....so now I'm pretty confident.