Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2020, 04:39 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 6
Default Stereo Power on 3300SCR

Hey All, new to Maxum and my new stereo head unit is no longer receiving power after successful installation and a season of trouble free use. Can anyone suggest how to trouble shoot? I am not electronic wiring savvy, but have checked the possible fuses and all look clean. Thank you in advance for the guidance.

Jon L
2000 3300 SCR
Green Bay, WI
__________________

LagTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2020, 10:03 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,776
Default

What do you mean by the fuse looks clean? Did you measure it to verify itís not blown? When you installed the radio was there a inline fuse in the wiring harness?
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 12:25 PM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 6
Default

How does one measure a fuse? I look at it and if it isnít black from blowing I assume itís good. I am not aware of an in-line fuse at least not one that I can find. Thanks.
LagTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 01:21 PM   #4
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,722
Default

There is a fuse in the fuse panel (under the dash) there should also be an inline fuse in the wiring harness just behind the stereo.

Obvious suggestions:

Make sure the battery switch is on
Make sure the batteries aren't dead
check the voltage on the stereo unit.
check the inline fuse
check voltage to the inline fuse.
check the fuse panel fuse
check voltage to the fuse panel fuse (inbound and outbound)
Attempt to temporarily jump 12V directly to the unit to see if it is the unit itself.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 04:39 PM   #5
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LagTime View Post
How does one measure a fuse? I look at it and if it isnít black from blowing I assume itís good. I am not aware of an in-line fuse at least not one that I can find. Thanks.
With an ohm meter. Should read close to zero ohms if good else infinity if blown. Glass fuses can get a black color but push in blade fuses seldom show this sign.
Who installed the new radio?
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 06:22 PM   #6
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the tips. Iíll have to see if I can find the inline fuse. I will also replace the blade fuse. Now I have an excuse to learn how to use my grandpas ohm meter I got when he passed 20yrs ago. Also, I installed it and it worked fine for a season. Iíll check my soldering as well for good measure. Thanks all!
LagTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 10:09 PM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LagTime View Post
Thanks for the tips. Iíll have to see if I can find the inline fuse. I will also replace the blade fuse. Now I have an excuse to learn how to use my grandpas ohm meter I got when he passed 20yrs ago. Also, I installed it and it worked fine for a season. Iíll check my soldering as well for good measure. Thanks all!
Would that be a Simpson 260? Check the batteries, if old one were left in it they probably leaked.
__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 12:36 PM   #8
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LagTime View Post
Iíll check my soldering as well for good measure.
What did you solder? Everything should be compression fittings. Solder is brittle, and corrodes.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2020, 12:21 PM   #9
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 6
Default

It was the compression fittings with solder inside.
__________________

LagTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electronics, power supply, stereo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.