Old 01-18-2021, 11:34 PM   #1
Lieutenant

Default Shore Power Not Working - 1997 Maxum 3000 SCR

Hi All,

I'm new to cruising and just bought a 1997 Maxum 3000 SCR. I've discovered that the shore power isn't working. The boat is currently stored on land in a boatyard, and there's 30amp power from the yard panel. The yard's power is working (the marina tested the panel by connecting it to another boat) and the breaker on the panel is on. I've tried another cord that is known to work and still no power, so I don't think it's a cord issue.

Where the cord connects to the boat there's a breaker, and it's "on". On the AC panel inside the boat there's a main breaker switch that I also set to "on" but there's no power to the panel (there's a green light that would indicate when AC power is working).

Not sure if it's relevant or not but the batteries are brand new and DC power is working fine.

Anybody have ideas on what I might be missing? Some sort of GFCI hidden somewhere?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Ken

kt_maxum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 12:07 AM   #2
Admiral

The green light may be out. Have you tested with a meter to see if power is at any of the receptacles with the breakers on? You may need to pull the panel and start measuring for power at the main breaker to see if power is getting to it. Is there a built in voltmeter and if so does it show power?

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 12:20 AM   #3
Lieutenant

Thanks very much Mike. I didn't test for power at the receptacles but I did try turning on the lights with the shore power connected and the breaker on (and the batteries in the "off" position) and they didn't work. I'll try the receptacles as well.

I think you're right that I need to see whether power is getting to the panel in the first place. Unfortunately there's no built in voltmeter on the panel.

Thanks,
Ken
Old 01-19-2021, 01:06 AM   #4
Admiral