Old 01-27-2011, 08:47 PM   #1
Lt. Commander

Default Garmin 3210 GPS, Radar too?

Hey guys, my current boat came with an awesome Garmin GPS the 3210. I was looking into a small radar system when lo and behold I found that my GPS can also double as a radar through the Garmin network connection. I've read that the GMR 18 radar will be all I need to be up and running. Being a total novice, can anyone offer any advice on this? There's the GMR 18 and GMR 18 HD (high definition) , and I'm wondering how much better the HD is. Any advice would be helpful. Also I do not have a radar arch, so will have to either explore putting one up, or mounting the radome on a mount perhaps in front of the helm as I've seen; any comments on that would be appreciated as well. Thanks, Tom.

Old 01-28-2011, 12:36 AM   #2
Admiral

well...it looks like you can add a radar antenna to the system...problem is they recommend a larger antenna than the one your proposing so I'm not sure it will work.....

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=390

check under accessories and radar....it will show the antenna it recommends....I think it would be waaaaay to big for your boat....
and yes your gonna need a radar arch for it...

SP

Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 01:52 PM   #3

I would make sure that you mount it above your head. It is not safe to put your body in line with Radar for extended periods. If you don't want a Radar Arch, then cosider a radar post. I'll look for a link.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 03:19 PM   #4

http://www.pyacht.com/seaview-poles-garmin-3.htm