Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2017, 02:30 PM   #11
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HavaMax View Post
Ertyqway, quick question, I'm needing to replace my throttle/shift cables. Were you able to do this without opening up many compartments? Were you able to just use old to feed the new thru? This sounds like a nightmare of a job.....
I replaced mine. There should be a 'seal' or 'vapor barrier' of sorts where the cables and wires pass through the engine room bulkhead. It's not a huge deal.

On my 2800, I needed to remove a panel in the mid-cabin to feed the cables into the engine compartment. It was not a big deal at all.
__________________

__________________
Leave me alone, it's Boating Season!!!
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 04:44 PM   #12
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HavaMax View Post
Ertyqway, quick question, I'm needing to replace my throttle/shift cables. Were you able to do this without opening up many compartments? Were you able to just use old to feed the new thru? This sounds like a nightmare of a job.....
It was a royal pain. I got about halfway through the process and threw my hands up in frustration, called my friendly neighborhood boat mechanic, and he finished the job for me for $250. It was worth every penny.

The big issue was getting the cables up to the console from the engine compartment. If I had been really thinking about it, I would have strung a pull line through the compartment when I pulled the old cables, so I could pull the new ones back through the same chase. I did not do this, which made the whole thing a hundred times more complicated.

Hence why I am not in any big hurry to change the cables out again so soon. I hope these last the same 22 years as the old ones.
__________________

ertyqway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 04:49 PM   #13
Captain
 
HavaMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Havasu City AZ
Posts: 799
Default

Thanks....that's what I was afraid of!!! I will probably use the best tool in my toolbox....my checkbook!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Dezart Elegance Pool Tile Cleaning
1994 Maxum 3200 SCR
HavaMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 02:09 PM   #14
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,594
Default

You probably don't even need to run a pull line, but that wouldn't be a bad idea for phishing future cables. Overlap about 6-12 inches of the new cable over the old cable. Tape them together in a spiral pattern, then pull the old cables out. The old cables become the pull for the new cables.

I had removed the panel in the aft before, so it was much easier for me to to just that.
__________________

__________________
Leave me alone, it's Boating Season!!!
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3200 scr, throttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.