Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 07:40 PM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 84
Default Stereo and GPS

I got onto my boat yesterday (2300SC), and the I turned the stereo on, the stereo power was on, but there was no sound coming out of the speakers. My gps didnt turn on either. The fuses are fine...

Any Ideas?
__________________

MaxumNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 10:48 PM   #2
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default checking

did the radio lights come on??..gps boot up or is it dead..no pwr..??

did you check your main switch that controls the batt's??...or the main breaker on the engine..the 50 amp one...make sure those are working properly....
__________________

__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 08:03 AM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 84
Default

The gps power was dead (wasnt turning on).. The stereo power was on it was fully functional theres just no sound coming out the speakers (not fuzzy or anything) theres no sound at all.
MaxumNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 12:51 PM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield Virginia
Posts: 142
Default power

We are all just guessing here since there's not enough information to go on. Here's my guess.

Faulty or poor ground connection.

Rationale:
Stereo, might still light up with less than 12 volts, but amps wouldn't operate, GPS is going to be more sensitive to low voltage.

This is presuming all fuses are good.

You didn't indicate if the motor was running, I would fire it up and see if you get the same results. Next a really good VOM meter might be useful in checking out power, another "Easter egg" trick I've used is to bring along a small 12volt battery , like a motorcycle battery. Make sure its fully charged. Use this to power devices that are suspect. Just disconnect at the red fuse and use your alternate power. For radio's the case is usually a good negative side. For the GPS you may need to get both power leads and disconnect them reconnecting with your carry on battery. Its usually a good idea to make up short power leads from this temp battery, just be careful not to short them out.

KKKKFL
Franco_2100SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 12:24 AM   #5
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 84
Default

This was while the motor was running. I set the power switch to use both batteries at the same time to make sure and still same results. I'm also thinking ots a poor ground connection.

Thanks for that 12v battery idea, thats great!
MaxumNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:45 AM   #6
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default bad conn..

I have to agree with franco on this one....check all connections and use a volt/ohm mtr....it sure sounds like low voltage going to the stereo and gps......let us know what you come up with....
__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 05:38 PM   #7
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 84
Default

Used a meter, couldnt find any faulty wires.. I got the gps running, it was a bad ground I think.. I disconnected the gps wire from the panel and cleaned it off and reatached and it worked..

Cant figure out the stereo, the speaker wire is all fine. I pulled the stereo out and it looked alittle coroded inside the actual stereo.. I dont belive that its a marine stereo, I think whoever had the boat before me put a regular stereo in there and im thinking it got ruined from when I wash down the boat every night.

I want to get a new stereo anyway with sirius radio. i should have it in a day or 2 so when I plug it in I guess i'll find out if its the stereo or if its a wire I may have missed.
MaxumNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 06:20 PM   #8
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield Virginia
Posts: 142
Default marine audio

I have been looking at Marine audio units since I want to replace the JBL unit that came stock in my boat. JBL is chinese junk and I hope you didn't go that route. Actually, in my research I have found that Seaworth, JBL are the same, and I won't have another one of them... going on one each season.

The two best units I have found are Sony, and Clarion 455. The 455 has the input lines and front panel to support Satellite radio if you want that and its the unit I'm going with for the start of next season. It also has a remote switch that is the same size as the JBL so I won't have a messy hole in the back to cover up.

KKKKFL
Franco_2100SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:02 PM   #9
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 84
Default

OK good to know. My boat had a jvc in it, so it definately wasnt a marine radio, since ive started searching for stereos I havent seen one jvc, so i really hope thats what the problem is.

I just checked out the clarion m455a looks like a great unit. but i was curious when reading about it, it said "CeNET control for connecting a Clarion 6-disc CD changer or SIRIUS satellite radio tuner" does that mean ill need a separate tuner for sirius or is the tuner built in?
MaxumNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:42 PM   #10
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Springfield Virginia
Posts: 142
Default sat radio

Almost all the radios that I have found use a seperate 3x5x1/2 inch box that is the actual sat receiver. This receiver also has a small hockey puck type satellite antenna(I think 4 or 5 foot cable between puck and Rx). Kinda like the Lowrance units. The cable from the actual receiver then plugs into the back of your head unit, and the actual head unit which looks like the 455 has the controls and displays for satellite radio. The clarion makes both XM and Serius sat boxes, and my guess is that the approach allows them to use the same head unit.

Rivermarine is the best place to purchase price wise, at least so far...

KKKKFL
__________________

Franco_2100SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flat Screen TV Installation? seaclusion Electronics 6 07-28-2013 07:08 AM
DVD Player smokeyottor Electronics 1 01-10-2010 02:48 AM
Swim Platform Removal moridin5 Maxum Owners General Discussions 12 10-29-2009 03:11 AM
The end is nigh! Ticamo Maxum Owners General Discussions 4 08-13-2009 04:46 AM
Bow cushions zt260 Maxum Owners General Discussions 2 01-18-2008 08:13 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.