Old 07-17-2007, 10:51 PM   #1
Ensign

Send a message via AIM to Nitrous SSC
Default Newbie here. Gota Tilt gauge problem, low RPM/Idle struggle

Okay first let me introduce myself. I'll be a resident search/post whore for a little bit. I usually work on mustangs, building them, racing them, ect. Got a 600+HP stang in the stable with 2 others. I decided to try boating and found one that I love. Turns out its a Maxum.

Here's what I got....

1996 1700MF with a Force 120 2-stroke outboard. Its pretty cool! I love it so far. I've had it out on the lake twice.

When I got the boat the tilt gauge dosn't function. Is this an easy thing to correct? how do I go about fixing it? Part numbers are my friend.

The engine midly struggles at sub 2000 rpm and at idle. Is this normal for a 2-stroke? I'm told they don't like low RPM. I ran into a problem the first time out that it kept dying. I got a service manual that explained how to raise the idle. I did so from 450rpm to 850-900 rpm. This seemed to help ALOT in fixing the problem. But it still does it sometimes when I put it in gear it will stall out.

Yesterday as per a good friend thats a local boat guy told me to run some Seafoam through it. I did so and it seems to run much better in my driveway at least....we'll see how it does at the lake.

Any suggestions on giving this Force 120 a tune up? I cleaned all the spark plugs and they look brand new. I also blasted the carbs pretty good with carb cleaner then sea foam throught them.

Also top speed is around 33mph with the trim perfect on glass water. Shouldn't this go faster? The highest I can get it to go on the tach is about 4800rpm.

Thanks, I look forward to being on the board.

Old 07-18-2007, 02:13 AM   #2
Admiral