Old 12-09-2007, 10:38 PM   #1
Ensign

Default New Owner of 1996 1900 SR Here, Any Advice Welcomed

Hi everyone,

I just took possession of a 1996 Maxum SR. It has the 5.7 liter Mercruiser inboard with, I think, an alpha 1 outboard.

I am completely new to boating, but I had a recent "life changing" experience and wanted a new hobby, so I somehow ended up with this used boat (a story in itself) but I had to shell out money to hook up a tow package to the Jeep and just brought it home.

I am not even sure if this boat is going to run well. I could not start it. The battery could be dead or just disconnected. The engine looks to be in good condition, so does the entire boat actually. It needs a new propeller becase the one it has on it has chipped about an inch on 2 blades of the blades, but I will hold off on that (reading here I learned I might want a 14 1/4 - 19) until I get the motor and electric systems seaworthy.

Its very hard to know where to start with a used, unkown boat. I mean, I don't even know where to start looking for problems. I'm afraid to take it to the authorized dealer, for fear he'll find $1000's of dollars in repair work.

But, that might just be the best solution. The hull looks in good shape and the engine looks good from what I can tell - hoses and belts are still good, no obvious rust on the clamps or screws etc but it just got delivered and I haven't had much time to look it over. I know I will want at least a complete tune up, which I would do myself if it wasn't so unknown to me. I can only do minor repair work/tuneup to an engine - but with an inboard, and outboard, electrical system, axels, propeller and not even a manual maybe the best thing to do would be to let the dealer do the first workover on it - or at least a thorough inspection and a quote.

Wish me luck. I really do want to start boating! Yes, I know, it's December but I live in Southern California! It might be 75 on Christmas day!

Wish me luck!