Old 06-07-2015, 10:14 AM   #1
Ensign

Default New Boat Owner

Hi everyone, New member here in the UK looking for some advice if possible.

I am completely new to boating, but am considering purchasing a 1994 Maxum 2300SCR (5.7 Mercruiser V8). It's something that we would really like to enjoy as a family (wife 2 kids and a dog:-), but i'm just conscious that support for Maxum boats (parts) in the UK seems to a bit light on the ground. You seem like a friendly bunch so I thought I would start here.

As I say, i know nothing about boats. We've looked at Bayliners and Sea Rays so far, but I like the design of the Maxum, it seems to suit our needs perfectly (overnighting with the family). Should I be concerned with the percieved lack of UK support? (I'm possibly completely wrong here BTW)
I'm aware that it's an older boat that I'm looking at and as such will need a bit of TLC, but is there anything in particular that I should be looking out for?
The boat is currently in Brighton marina and I would probably look to keep there at least initially.

Thanks
RB

RagingBull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 10:57 AM   #2
Admiral

RB welcome aboard

Maxum, bayliner, and Sea Ray are all owned by the Brunswick Co., in 2009 the Maxum line was shut down due to the economy. Yes Maxum spefic parts are getting hard to find everywhere however that is mainly the hull, things like engine, drive, all accessories, ... Boat builders buy from companies such as Mercruiser, Perko, ... So these parts or replacements are still available.

We have member in the UK to Downunder maybe one of them will chime in.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 11:38 AM   #3
Ensign

Thanks Mike, I really appreciate the info being a newbie to boating in general.
That makes sense and gives me some confidence. I'm not shy of a bit of hands on tinkering myself as long as parts are available.