Old 08-15-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Maxum 1700 Bowrider questions

Good evening, or morning if your in USA!

Just to introduce myself I am Lee from Brighton UK, I live at the Marina/harbour there and I am looking for a great starter boat, to say I am a noob is an understatement.

I have never owned a boat before, or even driven one but I am looking to get a boat in the next couple of months and moor it up down here.

I have been looking at various boats (cheaper ones to begin with) and the Maxum 1700 Bowrider looks like a bargain, it also looks great and a good size for a starter boat. What I was wondering is if you had any pointers as to things to look out for...are there any common niggles they have? I know they are quite old (ones I was looking at were about 1995). I was also wondering in terms of servicing what needs to be done on a regular basis? I am completely new to it all.

Also, this may sound dumb but are they fine to moor up in salt water permanently? Or are they more boats that you would take out for a day then store again.

Anyhow thanks in advance, and if you know of any similar boats to recommend then it would be much appreciated.

Lee

LeeSouthUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:18 AM   #2
Commander

Lee, my dad has that same boat just a year older. Is it a outboard or sterndrive? Running gear makes a difference. Plus, for us yanks...What's a niggle?

-JP

CountryME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:34 AM   #3
Ensign

Hi there,

A niggle is a common problem, or slight issues that arise with certain models.

This is a link to the same boat I am looking at getting http://www.boatsandoutboards.co.uk/s...iser-3l-DWN116

It may shed more light,

Thanks, Lee
Old 08-16-2012, 10:54 AM   #4
Captain