Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2015, 03:28 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond, Indiana, United States
Posts: 4
Default lewmar windlass question

I am a fairly new owner of a '98 3000 SCR. 2 concerns. I have the winch powered by 2 deep cycle batteries serving as a house panel. Should the winch be connected to the engine cranking batteries instead so that if the house batteries are run down, I can still winch up the anchor? Or, is there a risk of slow current leak with the winch that would render my cranking batteries dead?

Also, does anyone know where its circuit breaker is? If the winch stopped working while running, is it a breaker or more likely a solenoid or other component?

Thanks,
Scott
__________________

Scott Pennington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 03:32 PM   #2
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond, Indiana, United States
Posts: 4
Default windlass question for 3000SCR

I am a fairly new owner of a '98 3000 SCR. 2 concerns. I have the winch powered by 2 deep cycle batteries serving as a house panel. Should the winch be connected to the engine cranking batteries instead so that if the house batteries are run down, I can still winch up the anchor? Or, is there a risk of slow current leak with the winch that would render my cranking batteries dead?

Also, does anyone know where its circuit breaker is? If the winch stopped working while running, is it a breaker or more likely a solenoid or other component?

Thanks,
Scott
__________________

Scott Pennington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 03:51 PM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 15
Default

Good questions, I hope you get some answers as I was wondering the same things.
lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 04:05 PM   #4
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Hammond, IN (Lake Michigan)
Posts: 17
Default

I have mine powered off the engine battery. Start the engines then use the windlass. You will not run the risk of running down the battery as it only uses power when utilizing the windlass. My windlass breaker is on the dash next to the windlass switch.
Tomd8950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 12:45 AM   #5
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

The winch breaker is in the back of the same cabinet as the battery switches.



You definitely want the winch on the house battery, not starboard battery engine. Btw, your house battery is also your port starting battery.



If also else fails, you can start your starboard engine, switch to both on both switches, start your port, then pull anchor.



I never use my winch unless the port engine is running.
Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 01:06 PM   #6
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,555
Default

Moved from the "Introductions" Sub-Forum to the "General" sub-forum.
__________________
Leave me alone, it's Boating Season!!!
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 01:30 PM   #7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,555
Default

Merged duplicate threads.

Welcome aboard Scott Pennington!!!
__________________
Leave me alone, it's Boating Season!!!
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 02:06 PM   #8
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

I should mention, unless someone rewired your boat, the 3000 doesn't have a stand alone house battery. Battery 1 is the port starting and house battery. battery 2 is starboard starting only.



The switches need to be in position one for normal operation, and in both to tie them together. Its an odd wiring, but that's what it is. I posted in a thread here a while ago pictures and diagrams of how the 3000 is wired.
Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 07:52 PM   #9
Ensign
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond, Indiana, United States
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks Kevlar and shrew. I did have the engine compartment rewired a bit so that the house panel is 2 deep cycle batteries. Each engine has its own cranking battery as before, total of 4 batteries. There is an on/off switch for the windlass in the cabinet with the house/engine battery switches. Does it serve as a circuit breaker?
Scott Pennington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 07:55 PM   #10
Captain
 
Kevlar7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 742
Default

There is an on off switch and a breaker. Look under the shelf in the back of the cabinet.



That windlass draws a LOT of current. I would not use it off the house battery, and only run it from a battery connected to a running engine.



How is your charging set up? Are you using a 3 bank isolator to charge your 3 banks?
__________________

Kevlar7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
windlass

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.