Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Maxum Owners General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-23-2013, 09:07 PM   #1
Ensign

Default How many hours should I expect to get out of a motor?

Hi everyone, I'm new and looking to purchase a 2004 2700 SE. This will be my first boat so I have a few questions. It has 560 hours on the 5.0 motor. Is that a lot? Any thoughts on how many hours they usually get? It's also pretty faded from the sun. Is there any way I can buff it back to that shinny finish? Does anyone have a list of all available options and prices when it was new. I'm in Canada and they are asking 45000 with a new double axle trailer. Any thoughts on what it's worth. Thanks in advance for any feedback. I'm a rookie

LOTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:44 PM   #2
Admiral

First welcome aboard!

How many hours is a varaible, was it used in fresh or salt water, open or closed cooling, maintained properly???

Assuming salt water this engine should last 1000 - 2000 hours. At 560 it is most likely time to replace the exhaust manifolds and elbows as these are water cooled for operating in confined space. You are looking at ~$500 for aftermarket and ~ $800 for mercruiser parts.

Also the raw water impeller (rubber) has ~ 2year life to avoid issues (can last longer but at $50 forthe parts not worth the gamble IMO).If you have an Alpha outdrive it's located in the middle of the unit, if you have a bravo it's mounted on the lower starboard side of the engine (right facing forward).

Depending on how faded it may need a light sanding wit 1000 to 2000 grit paper, rubbing compond, polishing compond, wax. Start at the end and work your way back, i.e. wax if not good enough the polish, ...

Regarding valve of the boat try ebay or yachtworld.com

Good luck and keep us posted your adventure, hopefully all fair seas

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote