Old 01-22-2010, 01:30 PM   #1
Lt. Commander

Post Best practices for docking

Well the weekend is here but I don’t think I'll be out boating this one. :-( That said, I was thinking about my next outing and particularly putting the boat back into the slip afterwards. While I'm not new to boating, I am relatively new to a 30' + boat.

The 2900 I have has a 31’ LOA with just under a 10' beam. and my slip is a 30x12'. Its located at right angles to the main channel so I always seem to get the remnants of someone’s wake pushing me all over the place. Up till now, my MO for docking has been to approach the slip with my port side quite close to the dock and then start to make a starboard turn and power off letting me drift until I'm at right angles to the dock. Once there, I put the boat into reverse and start backing up and that’s where things tend to go a little haywire.

As I back up, the bow always seems to start drifting to port and I end up going into the dock and clipping the outside corners of the dock. When I say clip, it’s a nudge. I've already powered off and if I'm on my own, I'm already on the swim platform to walk myself in or if someone else is there, they do the same thing.

While I'm writing this, I'm thinking to myself that I should make the turn to starboard earlier and come around a bit further and use the drift and power to back in.

What do you guys think? Any advice from the old salts here?

As always, any advice is much appreciated.

Cymru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 03:57 PM   #2
Admiral

Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd

Can't offer a lot of insights. I have seen that some slip holders secure a line from one of the out board pilings all the way back to the dock, paralelle to the slip. They can then grab that line, either by hook or hand, once they get the stern into the slip.