Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Maxum Owners General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-04-2015, 02:33 AM   #1
Lieutenant

Default 3000SCR advice

Greetings all from the newest of Newbies.

I have a line on a 99 3000SCR. 5.7 with Bravo II's 327 hrs. Stored inside in a heated warehouse. The boat looks immaculate. The only option it apears not to have is a generator. I am new to powerboating "for pleasure" though I drive one for a living. The only boats I've ever owned have been sailboats in the 26-30ft range.

Other than the obvious mechanincal issues (having a survey done), is there anything specific to Maxums or this model in general to which I should pay extra attention? As well, I am debating whether or not I need a genny. I'm assuming the obvious that everything will work at the dock while connected to shore power. Without I genny, what am I losing at sea/anchor?

thanks in advance for your words of wisom

Bush

bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 11:37 AM   #2
Admiral

A basic survey will check the boat for structure as well that all accessories work. What is not checked in depth is the health of the engines and drives, not all surveyors can perform this more in-depth check.

When not on shore power all AC powered equipment will not work; A/C, Microwave, Battery Charger, ...

The frig should be dual volt and run on 12V when not on AC power.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 01:47 PM   #3
Admiral

The 5.7L sounds like a small engine for a boat that size. Take a couple buddies with you when you sea trial it.

Unless it has twins and I read it wrong. If so then just ignore me.
Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 01:52 PM   #4