Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2017, 01:18 AM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 31
Default 3.0 Merc Spring Start Issue

1999 Maxum SRL 1900
Had problems last year and got carbs redone which seemed to fix the problem in the fall. I put 1.5hours on without issues in fall after carbs fixed.
So when I pulled it out this year got everything ready it started great turned over 2nd time and idled around 900rpm for 12-15mins then sputtered and stalled out.
Now will start but wont stay running for more then 5 seconds.
Since this happened i filled tank with fresh gas 85L
(I know very little about carbs)Took top of carb off could not move the flap. Started it at about 1500rpm and got back to the flap and I could keep it running if i played with the flap moving it slightly but as soon as i let go it would stall out. Ran this way for a few minutes.
Anyways before I take it to someone for $150 hr is there some diy things I can try keep in mind I do not know much about carbs. I would like to learn but do not know anyone and can not find many videos about them. Thanks for any help.
__________________

Willy.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 01:45 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,443
Default

Flap? Are you referring to the choke plate?

On the side of the carb is the electric choke with three screws, you may need to loosen them to adjust choke. When the engine is cold and you pump the throttle the choke should close to about a pencil diameter opening. As the engine heats up the choke should open till straight up. Go to the Documents section of this site to get the mercruiser manual for your engine as it has a section for the carb.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 01:59 AM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 31
Default

yes choke plate. like i say im a noob sorry.
So when cold and engine not started if i pump it the plate should move or it moves after its started? So sounds like just choke adjustment? When i was manually playing with the plate it was running at around that pencil width but as soon as i let go it went straight up again. I will have a look tomorrow at it again.

I should also note the 1st time it stalled out i thought it was just out of fuel (thought it had more) this is why i filled it up and then the problems began.
Willy.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 02:30 AM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,443
Default

When the engine is cold the closed choke limits the amount of air with results in a higher fuel to air ration or a richer mixture to keep the engine running. As it warms up the choke opens and the air to fuel ration leans for the correct operating condition. A computer on a fuel injected engine does this by controlling the fuel injectors to richen the mixture when cold.

Yes you can manually close the plate and since the engine would then run this seems to be the problem. If you held it until the engine warmed you should be able to let go and the engine should continue to run.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 02:39 AM   #5
Lt. Commander
 
donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: N.Calif.
Posts: 247
Default

I would look at the possibility that the fuel filter is plugged!
The chock should have been fully open after it ran for 10 to 12 minutes!
Check the fuel filter first!
Don
__________________
1995 Maxum 2400 SCR 5.7 A1 G2 LUNA DE MIEL
1988 Bayliner 2455 5.0 IO (sold)
1987 Seaswerl 18ft C. Cabin 4.3 IO(lost in fire)
1976 16ft. Tahiti 2.5 IO (sold)
donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 03:00 AM   #6
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 31
Default

There was about 2 hours between the time it stopped after running great (thought no fuel) so it would have cooled down for 2 hours. i have been looking at the manual and will attempt to adjust the choke but just so i understand i take the 3 screws off and turn it left for less choke and right for more choke? I want more choke i guess? Can the choke work perfect like it did 2 hours before for the 12-15minutes it ran to later not work like suspecting? I dont know if i did run out of fuel but it took 85 liters and im pretty sure thats my tank size. could this have caused problems?
Willy.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 11:38 AM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,443
Default

You just need to loosen the three screws not remove them. No the choke should not go bad in a day but since you said closing the plate helped I don't know if was ever set correctly. Don does have a good point if the gas tank ran low crude may have clogged the filter or carb. This would lean the mixture as well. There should be two filters, a spin on one and a cartridge one in the carb where the fuel line connects.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 01:26 PM   #8
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks. I will try to find them. Do they need replaced or can they be taken off and cleaned to test this therory? Closing the choke plate would allow it to ru. With a clogged or ad fuel filter? Thanks again for the help going out to stay playing with it soon.
Willy.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 02:59 PM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,443
Default

The spin on filter will need to be replaced it's constructed like an oil filter so no way to clean. The carb filter can be cleaned if the screen type and not a paper element, however these are cheap and if you are going through the effort to remove it just put a new one in.

Glad to help.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 04:06 PM   #10
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 31
Default

ok took the top part of carb off cleaned it all up put a new fuel filter in carb put all back together.
Started up and ran for about 30 seconds good at about 1000 rpm then stalled out again. So question about the choke plate before starting it i could wiggle it to move a few mm from the closed (flat)position. After running it for the 30 seconds its straight up in open position and i cant move it without the throttle engaged. Is this normal? I did not do anything with adjusting the choke yet.
__________________

Willy.Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.