Old 01-21-2008, 09:27 PM   #1
Lt. Commander

Default 1800SR3 LPG

On a previous Mercruiser powered ski boat, I had the big bonus that it had an LPG conversion, as LPG is half the cost of petrol.
At that time only disadvantage was very few places stocked it at the pump; now very easy to buy on garage forecourts, and many marinas.

So maybe a conversion is worth considering.

LPG is only 45p per litre - £2.05 per gall compared to £4.75 a gallon for petrol (UK gallon figures) to put in perspective that is equiv to $3.40 gall lpg against $7.90 gall for petrol. (US gall)

Biggest issue would be where to put tanks ... on 1800SR3 .. if I could get 2 tanks under the bow seats that would be ideal, but guess it's not likely to be possible.

Anbody any experience of converting 1800?

Argonaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 04:01 AM   #2
Commander

Quote:
Biggest issue would be where to put tanks

I'm not an expert on alternative fuels. But, I do think that this could be a big concern.

Propane is less dense than gasoline and you must carry more of it to go the same distance. On a per unit of weight basis, liquid propane contains about five percent more energy than gasoline; however, the density is 30% less. The net result is that a gallon of propane contains about 28% less energy than a gallon of gasoline. In addition, Propane tanks can only be filled to 80 pecent of their capacity due to expansion.