Old 05-14-2013, 04:08 PM   #1
Ensign

Default V-Belt Removal Questions

96 3200 SCR - Twin 5.7 Mercruisers

I believe I have some belt squeal but would like to isolate from where. IIRC one of the motors has 4 v-belts (the one with PS) the other 3 v-belts? I am relatively new to working on boats and most of the maintenance has been done by the marina. I thought this would be rather simple like in a car. (move a tensioner pulley and remove belt) but it looks like the only way to remove the belts is to remove the pulleys, all of which look to be attached with like 6 bolts. Except the alternator v-belt I see a adjustment on that. But would still need to remove a pulley to get the belt off. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks

Old 05-14-2013, 04:24 PM   #2
Admiral

Hi PANDA,
V belt don't have a belt tensioner you remove them by losening the alternator, power steering pump, raw water pump bolts that mount for mentioned to their brackets. They should have a slotted hole where one of the bolts is fastened which allows you to swing the alternator, etc. in to remove tension and then slip the belt over the pulleys. There is no need to remove the pullyes. When putting the belts back on you can use a long screw driver in place of the belt prybar to put tension on the alternator etc. and have to tighten the bolts while maintaining tension. A picture would help in pointing out things a littel better.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:41 PM   #3
Admiral

Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd

I would also add that if you're using V belts you do not want to put too much tension on them. Too much tension may cause premature failure of bearings in the accessories that the belts run (Alt, PSP, etc). Basically you want just enough tension to eliminate any belt squeal. They make a special tension measuring tool but you can accomplish the same by a little trial and error.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 06:23 PM   #4
Ensign