Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2017, 03:57 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Default Spotlight replacement on 3700SCR

I need to replace the Jabsco SL135 spotlight on my 3700SCR. Has anyone done that and do you have advice. I can't figure out how you would get to the bolts on the base. I am assuming the spotlight is bolted in and you can't reach under the bow to unbolt it.
__________________

mikeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 05:19 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,586
Default

Have you tried to see if the bolts are accessible from the anchor locker?
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 05:37 PM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Default

I haven't looked into the anchor locker yet. But my guess is I wont be able to reach the light. Look at the pic I attached (grabbed off the web). It's a long way from the locker to where the light is mounted.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3700SCR_bow.jpg (70.8 KB, 7 views)
mikeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 10:37 PM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,586
Default

Are you certain it's through bolted? Have you tried unscrewing the bolts at the base?
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 10:47 PM   #5
Ensign
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Default

I'm going to take a crack at it this weekend. The new searchlight came with machine bolts and nuts so I was worried about installation. Maybe I'll get lucky and they'll be screws instead. I'll let you know what the outcome is. Thanks!
mikeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 10:56 PM   #6
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 5,586
Default

Good luck

If factory installed it was put on before the top and bottom hulls were mated. But should still be removable however an accesss hole may be required to drill.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 02:11 AM   #7
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 1,937
Default

If this is the same as a 3000 it is a piece of cake . You have the 3 screws to come out and it is glued down . You also have your wires attached too.


Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 02:03 PM   #8
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,693
Default

I also doubt that was bolted. It's not intended to take any force. Like a hawse pipe or a running light, i bet that will screw right out.
__________________

__________________
Shhhhhh!!! Please lower your voice, the boat is sleeping.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.