Old 01-17-2017, 10:49 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Arch removal 2003 3500 SY

Hi everyone, first time poster here.
Looking at a 3500 SY and would need to truck it several thousand miles. I've got an estimate, however it looks like I will need to remove the arch to meet height requirements.

I have honestly never even seen a 3500 SY in person, so I have no idea what's involved in removing the arch on one of these. I've owned plenty of Bayliners, and have many years experience with all boats, so I'm guessing it's not a huge deal, but I want to verify. I'm spit balling here, but 4 hours labor to remove and package for shipment seems about right compared to other boats. Again, I have zero knowledge about these.

Thanks!

Stray Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 12:12 AM   #2
Lt. Commander

i have a 35 foot scr got it from long island NY few people said to remove arch its only 13.1 on a low boy trailer best find a hauler with lower trailer. there gps shows heights of bridges also so there would be know damage of a bridge to LOW UHSIP.com they will gladly tell u the info. Long island has some low low bridges i removed my radar dome only ???

gmc60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 04:04 AM   #3
Ensign

It will probably fit under the overpasses during transport without removing the arch, however anything over 14'6" requires a pilot car in both California and Washington, which adds to the cost.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
Old 01-18-2017, 01:35 PM   #4

The arch should have an access panel on the inside near the base which will allow you to access the bolts on the top-side. You'll need to crawl underneath from either he mid-cabin or the engine compartment to reach the bolts on the under-side. This is a two person job. There should be 3 or 4 bolts on each side (left and right) to remove the arch. Make sure to support/suspend the arch before loosening and removing the bolts.