Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 77
Default shore power

hey guys,

i have a honda 2000i portable generator i hooked every thing right i think ,, the green light came on in the shore power panel and i was get a good reading on the meter
but nothing turned on microwave radio, ect ,,is there another switch? do i need to turn the key on? im sure i dont have to turn on the batteries,,might there be something else?

thanks
__________________

jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:01 PM   #2
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 77
Default

i have a 2000 scr 2800 by the way
__________________

jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 11:09 PM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Detroit / downriver area
Posts: 55
Default

Were the main breakers on the AC panel turned on as well as the individual breakers for microwave, etc.? I believe the radio may be a separate issue as it is likely only powered by DC. I have the 2000i also and use it while anchored for microwave, AC powered air pump for toys, etc. Also you likely have air conditioning and your panel will have a line-1 and line-2 switch. You may need to throw that over - you'll also need that shore power connection plugged in if you have the dual inlet like I have on my 2500. I can't remember if it was 1 or 2 for the air while the other was for the remaining 120V appliances, outlets, etc.
__________________
Jim & Renee
Trenton, MI
2001 Maxum 2500 SCR "Renee Marie"
seaman-recruit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:28 AM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Liberty Lake, WA... moored on Beautiful Coeur D' Alene Lake, ID
Posts: 199
Default

Jim/seaman-recruit is correct... if the green light is on, you likely didn't turn the MAIN breaker on! I've done the same thing (forgot the main breaker switch). On my 2001 2900 SCR I have two main breakers (one for the heat pump/air-conditioner) and one for all the other stuff requiring 120VAC, and of course BOTH have to be on for any of the other breakers to work (i.e.; microwave, outlets, stove, etc.)

Do you have the analog meter that shows the actual VOLTAGE coming in? Its built-in to the main panel, real close to the breaker swittches. I do on Endless Summer... but then again, if the main breakers aren't on, the meter won't show any power because it measures the input AFTER the main breakers are turned on (or off for that matter----zero voltage then!) I use the Honda 2000i also, works great when on the hook, or buoy or at a dock with no power. I took it one step further and tapped-into one of the gas tank outlets (there's four total on my boat) to build a gas-extraction pump so if the generator runs out of gas I can always "rob" it from my 102 gallon tank. I also use it to put gas in the JetSki sometimes, as we're often away from marinas where we boat to.
__________________
Jeff Means
jeffmeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 01:22 PM   #5
Captain
 
pascavone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massapequa, New York, United States
Posts: 762
Default

jeffmeans, where do you mount the honda when your boondocking?
pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:22 PM   #6
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 77
Default

Thank for the responces , i turned on the breaker switches, and also the main in the shore power box ,,, and nothing,,,
but i did see the green light on and was getting a strong reading on the meter,, i did all this saturday,, i just took the honda out the box that day , first time ever dealing with hooking up shore power was that day,,,, so i when i saw nothing was coming on after trying this and that i stopped,, i have"nt got round to a mount yet,
jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:25 PM   #7
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Liberty Lake, WA... moored on Beautiful Coeur D' Alene Lake, ID
Posts: 199
Default

I've put it both on the Extended Swim Platform I installed (47" deep") and out on the bow pulpit... it depends if we want to be away from the noise (although it's very quiet, it still makes enough noise to hinder conversation). Of course I've got it tied-down to the bow rail when it's out on the bow pulpit, and its tied to a high-mounted grab-rail when it's on the platform. Although its got the rubber "feet" under it, I'm a little nervous of it jiggling off of the platform due to vibration, so it's pretty well-secured at both spots. I also try to put towel or safety cushion under it to eliminate some of the vibration. It's STORED in the engine compartment, just in front of the batteries to port of the engine (I have a single engine---lots of room in there).
__________________
Jeff Means
jeffmeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:41 PM   #8
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Liberty Lake, WA... moored on Beautiful Coeur D' Alene Lake, ID
Posts: 199
Default

Jeff; this is very peculiar... turning on or off the shore power box's breaker should have about as much affect on your boat as me turning on my breaker for my dryer here at home in Liberty Lake, WA. When you plug in your new Honda generator to your boat, it REPLACES the shore power cord (and source---your dock power) and the boat "can't tell" from where the power is coming. In other words, the shore power has to be completely disconnected from the boat... and THEN you plug in the Honda Generator to your shore power outlet---it is your new power source. Depending on which Honda you bought, you may need an adapter to go from a standard 15amp plug to the 30amp outlet on your boat (about $50 from West Marine). But some of the NEWER Honday 2000i models I've seen have BOTH a 30amp output on them and a 15amp output.

In fact... I plug mine in, in this order (and recommend you do the same): plug in the 15amp to 30amp adapter with the extension cord already attached, turn ON the generator and THEN plug in the extension cord to the generator. This will eliminate arc-ing at the shore power outlet on your boat, a costly and intrusive repair for our model boat. Notice the existing shore power cord has nothing to do with this plug-in process, as it's no longer being used.

Good luck...
__________________
Jeff Means
jeffmeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 07:40 PM   #9
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Detroit / downriver area
Posts: 55
Default

I throw mine on the swim platform since my shore power connection is in the trunk. Just an FYI - those luggage straps you can buy at just about any store are great to secure the genny handle to the grab rail. (see mine in pic) One other thing I did was buy a 12' shore power cable (this had the 30A plugs on both ends since I have that outlet available on the genny) and then a short y-adapter (single 30A to dual-30A) for the shore power connections. That amount of cord takes up a lot less space in the trunk this way and leaves more room for fender storage, etc. I sourced the cords from Defender - check around because the prices for these vary significantly. I never need a 50'er since I use a rack-n-launch facility.

genny.JPG
__________________
Jim & Renee
Trenton, MI
2001 Maxum 2500 SCR "Renee Marie"
seaman-recruit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:07 PM   #10
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 77
Default

thank you guys for all your help, im gona take your advice
jeffmeans
__________________

jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.