Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2019, 04:30 AM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 23
Default Portable Generator

Hey All,

Question, noticed for AC to run on my 3000scr, both power lines need to be hooked up. Using a portable generator how do hook up? All I am seeing is the standard RV hookup on several different models. I was looking into the Honda 2k till I saw the recall.
__________________

MaximusBoatimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 11:39 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,283
Default

You will need to make you own adapter cable to connect to a non marine generator and the shore power cable. Be sure the non marine generator is exhausted away and downwind from the cabin.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 12:10 PM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 19
Default

You can buy a shore power splitter cable so you can hook up both feeds at once. Be careful not to overload the generator.
Jduncan99217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 02:09 PM   #4
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,481
Default

What is running on the 2nd house circuit besides the A/C? You will need the following:

1) 1x30amp(male)-2x30amp(female) splitter.

2) 15amp(male)-30amp(female) connector for the generator.

This will allow you to connect the generator to both shorepower connections.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:21 PM   #5
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
What is running on the 2nd house circuit besides the A/C? You will need the following:

1) 1x30amp(male)-2x30amp(female) splitter.

2) 15amp(male)-30amp(female) connector for the generator.

This will allow you to connect the generator to both shorepower connections.


Oddly enough I cant start the port motor without house being engaged(both). I'm not sure if its wired correct after seeing that today noticed it while cleaning up the terminals at the dash.
MaximusBoatimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 11:58 AM   #6
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 182
Default

A/C should only need one shore power connection. Line 2 if I recall
jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 05:09 PM   #7
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: NC
Posts: 59
Talking That how my 2800scr was setup from manufacture..

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximusBoatimus View Post
Oddly enough I cant start the port motor without house being engaged(both). I'm not sure if its wired correct after seeing that today noticed it while cleaning up the terminals at the dash.
.

My 2800scr original battery configuration share starboard battery with the house electronics ( I really do not know what were they thinking ) actually they did not think when they did that ... anyway, that means that to get your starboard engine running the house needs to be running too.. or the other way around :-) . I did not want to share any of my engine battery with the house so I add another set of battery for the the house only. I rather have my battery for the engines ready whenever I need to leave than have lights or music in the house.. so separate the house power from the engines.. The port side is different the battery only serves the portside engine.

Hopefully before this season I should be able to charge my house battery from the two alternators ( with my new battery isolator 2 alts 3 banks) and setting a switch that I could even use the house battery in an emergency if by any chance BOTH of my engine batteries went south ... I do not know how it could happen, but I want to be double sure I can start those engines when I am on the water .. some peace of mind ... and for the worse scenario I have a portable jumper battery :-) .
marcucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 05:14 PM   #8
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: NC
Posts: 59
Default Marinco splitter ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by jparsons121 View Post
A/C should only need one shore power connection. Line 2 if I recall
100 % right...

I used a 50 amp to (2) 30 amps marinco spliter connected to line 1 and line 2 with an adapter from 50 to 30 to connect your regular marine power cable to the shore power .. I would not run your water heater , microwave and ac all at once.. your may strip the breaker at the marina :P

Good luck ...
marcucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 02:58 PM   #9
Lt. Commander
 
mrt214's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 137
Default

@k will not be enough power for a/c. I bought the predator 3500 from Harbor Freight and it runs everything great, It's an electric start gen/inverter which is very quiet. Runs about 14 hrs on a tank of gas 4gal. It's actually made with Honda parts. At around $700 you can't go wrong. It comes with the 3prong outlet that you can plug shore power right in.
__________________
Mike
mrt214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 06:19 PM   #10
Lt. Commander
 
mrt214's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 137
Default

sorry. 2k will not be enough power for a/c, unless maybe you have a 900 btu a/c.
I have 1600 in my 3200SCR.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mrt214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.