Old 02-20-2011, 06:57 PM   #1
Ensign

Default New to Boating

I just wanted to say hello to all again,

1992 Maxum SR1800
V6, 4.3L?
Alpha 1

I bought the boat about 1 month ago and have used it a couple of times however I need some help with what maintenance to do to it.

The guy I bought it from seemed like he knew very little about a boat, even less than me, and said it was serviced but misplaced the records..

So I want to do a full tune-up I guess?

Where do you get a vacuum pump (for oil removal?) for the outdrive?

Help please, I am a jet mechanic in the military and mechanically inclined so I think I can do a lot of the stuff myself, I hope...

Thank you

Drey

Drey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 03:46 AM   #2
Admiral

Hey Drey welcome to the club!.........Have you had the boat check out by a marine mechanic? Just curious....... So Ca you probably want to boat all year around? I'm still dealing with snow! Two options......either get a service manual for Mercury $$$$ or one from Cylmer or Sealoc less$$$. More bang for your buck with a Cylmer manual. They will cover more engines sizes but hunt for the one that fits your outdrive and year.

Overtons is just one of the many website boat stuff stores that you can get your oil pump. I have one that is battery operated and I have a hand pump (Par makes them). With your engine set up you might look into just draining the oil out into your beilge. An old rag and some simple green will clean that up. Drain it out of your drain plug hole into a bucket The reason I say this is that you get all the oil and junk out of your engine by draining it rather than pumping it out. Goggle this and you will see the sky is the limit on all the stuff that is out there.

Back to the marine mechanic. I would start there with just getting it checked out, since you are a newcomer to all this he can show you what to look for and maybe some trade secrets!