Old 06-07-2016, 09:19 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Looking at a 2004 1800 SR3, 4.3L

Like the title says, I am lookin to get a new boat. I found one that I like but wanted to ask the vets here first. I am new to boats. I have been a seadoo guy. I am very good mechanically, but dont have experiece with boats.

So the boat I am looking at is a 2004 1800 SR3 4.3L. It looks good in pictures, but I am concerned about the rest of the description. It says "Latest work: exhaust and shift boots replaced, shift cable and oiler hose replaced 6 months ago. 3 month old battery, 1 year old starter, 1 year old carburetor (you need to put non ethanol gas to protect the carburetor!), new tachometer and voltmeter" It also says it will do 55 MPH at 4500 RPM.

This is a 12 year old boat so I expect some things would have needed to be worked on. Does this sound like the normal stuff?

What specific stuff should I look at or ask when looking at it? I already have seen to ask about the water pump. What else? Feel free to point me at a post or section to read. I am a big believer in forums. I will keep searching this one.

Thanks
Don

soccerdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 09:41 PM   #2
Admiral

Sounds like typical stuff for a boat of it's age. Do you know how many hours are on it?

Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 12:27 AM   #3
Ensign

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phillbo View Post
Sounds like typical stuff for a boat of it's age. Do you know how many hours are on it?
It has 180 hours on it. It was used in fresh and salt water but flushed each time. (so they say) I asked if he changed the pump impeller and he said "we didn't change the pump. It is and outboard and inboard engine. So I expect that they don't know much about it.