Old 02-13-2019, 11:16 AM   #1
Lt. JG

Default Gimbal bearing replacement

Hi All , Having only recently got into boats , I have a Maxum 180 SR, the gimbal bearing , bellows etc were all replaced prior to purchase, I would estimate it has only run 50 hours , and last time out it was a bit noisy and a lot of smoke coming from back of engine ( no flame) more a hot metal type thing , got the company I bought it from to give it the once over , they came back with gimbal bearing faulty, my response at best was Hmm !! I suspect maybe was not done , or fitted incorrectly, either way a bit suspicious , before retiring been on the tools all my days , engines, transmissions, hydraulics etc but not much to do with boats , question to be asked , Is this a DIY job to get to this bearing ?

Highland bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 11:28 AM   #2
Admiral

If you have been turning wrenches for years it should be a job you can do. Go to the "Documents" tab at the top of this WEB page. Then go to Mercruiser manuals and look for the Alpha manual.

Basically the drive needs (shifter in forward) to be removed then using a slide hammer with outward claws is used to pull the bearing. If the replacement is not the lubed for life one be sure the grease hole is aligned with the grease fitting in the housing.

However I would first check the condition of the bellows for cracks as if the bearing wasn't replaced or it was done years ago the bellows condition is suspect to me.

Mike
mmwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 11:30 AM   #3
Admiral

Forgot to mention is the bellows are bad then it's time to rebuild the entire transom assembly; bellows, bearing, shift cable, trim limit and position sender. Also check steering for too much play as the swivel shaft may be worn.

Mike
Old 02-13-2019, 01:54 PM   #4
Lt. JG

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post