Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2011, 01:19 PM   #1
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liberty Twp. Ohio
Posts: 87
Default Thinking about adding an amplifier to the radio

So i am sitting here at work thinking about my boat on a dreary Wednesday morning in Cincinnati Ohio. The one thing I would like to possibly change about my new-to-me 2400SR is that I can't hear the radio very easily when under way. I am considering adding an amplifier to the existing radio. I really don't know what all is involved other than in my younger days i installed an amp in my car and it seemed pretty straight forward. I believe I need a 4 channel amp since I have 4 speaker to amplify. I don't need a super expensive amp but something decent... can anyone chime in on suggestions?

Joe
__________________

jrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 03:11 PM   #2
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,161
Default

Do you anchor much and for any length of time? IMHO an amp chews through a lot of amp hours in the battery bank, no pun intended. I agree I can't hear the radio well when I'm underway either.
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

well..that has been one of my main beefs about Bayliner/maxum's for yrs....and yrs...they put the damned radio at your knees ...so..I got one of these things..they work great....mount it away from the compass....but beleive me..they are worth the 40 bucks..

http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs...classNum=50163


they hook up to the back of your vhf radio and usually there are 2 wires in the back to connect too...some radio's have a jack back there...get the 4.5 size speaker..

SP
__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 09:49 PM   #4
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Joe, get behind the helm and look at the back of your existing head unit. See if there are any RCA jacks hanging off the rear of the unit.

If there are then adding an amp should be fairly easy. The RCA's provide the line level input to the amp. Then all you need is 12V, Ground, and a trigger from the head unit to turn the amp on when the radio is turned on. The trigger wire is usually blue or orange I think. Then you just re-wire the speaker wires to the amp's outputs.

If you don't have RCA's coming out of the back of the head unit adding an amp isn't as easy. Smartest thing to do at that point is to replace the head unit with one that does not have a built in internal amp but supports an external amp. Or, a new head unit that does have a built in amp with a higher output rating than your current head unit.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:22 PM   #5
Admiral

 
seapuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Everett Wa
Posts: 4,681
Default

oops...I was thinking about the VHF....never mind my post above.......



SP
__________________
Don't compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.
------------------------
SSN683 Association member
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:38 PM   #6
Lt. Commander
 
oneradride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 228
Default

There is plenty of room in the sides of the boat for some nice 6.5 two ways. Please see picture. I also Run dual batteries.. before I go any further, if you are running high end audio they are almost a must.
I also have a DB digital mono sub amp and 2 cobalt 10's in a custom box in the ski locker (under the back seat) that are dual ported through the front that can been seen at 4:03 in my video.



If you don't already have RCA outs on your head unit there is a thing called a line output converter and it'll work just fine. Not bragging, just trying to give you some ideas. I did professional audio and video installation for about 7 years.... it was a long time ago though

__________________
Money pit or not..... you got to love 'em! ~ Darren
oneradride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:19 PM   #7
Lt. Commander
 
oneradride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 228
Default

Wanted to add.. "IF" you go this route and decide to add some speakers in a better location.... with the hole saw.... gently get the pilot bit through and reverse the drill!!!! Go through the fabric and insulation in reverse. When you reach the wood/fiberglass switch it to forward again.
__________________
Money pit or not..... you got to love 'em! ~ Darren
oneradride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 04:57 PM   #8
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liberty Twp. Ohio
Posts: 87
Default

I know this is a little old but I am still trying to figure out what would be my best option. It seems that we have some people that are much more knowledgeable about amps etc than I am so I thought I would throw out this link to what seems to be a decent amp. Perhaps those that know about these things could chime in...

http://www.techronics.com/caraudio_1...html?aff=72182

Just to let you know my intention is to add volume without distorting the sound at cruising speeds. I am by no means looking to compete in "loudest and most obnoxious boat" contests but simply a little louder radio...
jrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:08 PM   #9
Admiral

 
ss3964spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fairfax Va
Posts: 1,512
Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd
Default

Joe,

Did you check out your existing unit as I suggested above? IMO you need to know what you have first.....

But to answer you question the amp you linked to seems fine. You will need to know what your current speaker specs are though.

Dan
ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:14 PM   #10
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liberty Twp. Ohio
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ss3964spd View Post
Joe,

Did you check out your existing unit as I suggested above? IMO you need to know what you have first.....

But to answer you question the amp you linked to seems fine. You will need to know what your current speaker specs are though.

Dan
SOrry, I did check and it has the rca plugs but only 2. should it have 4? My current head unit is a Clarion M275...
__________________

jrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.