Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2013, 08:36 AM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK North Lincs
Posts: 12
Default radar arch hinged

I've a 3000scr - has anyone ever tried putting a hinge on the radar arch so that it can be readily lowered? We've several low bridges where we are (uk inland) and its a squeeze at normal water height (3 inch clearance)but if we are the other side and get caught with flood water we'd be stuck and unable to get back until the water dropped.

To pre-empt the obvious ones - We don't go out if flooding is likely but the geography of the area means we've seen a 12 inch non tidal rise over 3 hours without any warning before now and letting some air out the tyres to get under a bridge is not a sensible answer
__________________

nigelbartlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:14 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 6,030
Default

I guess flooding the bildge with water like the ships do with ballast tanks isn't acceptable either

I believe Doral boats had an option for what you are looking to do, so you may want to look into how they do it. I suspect it will require a fair amount of custom fabrication to install hindges and a locking mechanism that can support the weight and stress of pounding on waves.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 12:33 PM   #3
Captain
 
pascavone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massapequa, New York, United States
Posts: 762
Default

Google a radar hinge.

It's is a flat door type hinge made of stainless steel that had the radar attached to the top face, and then the whole radar unit flip over and hangs up side down, into the cockpit with a longer power wire, and then flip right back and locks again.

I've never seen a good looking radar on a maxum arch, because they are usually off center.

There is also one that mounts on a rod that holds the radar behind the arch, and the hing is attached to that.

This the QE III?
pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 12:44 PM   #4
Lt. Commander
 
Huddo007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 249
Default

I made one for my 3500 I'm only on my phone at the moment when I get to a PC will search for the thread I did I included photos it works awesome!!

Huddo
Huddo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:14 AM   #5
Ensign
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK North Lincs
Posts: 12
Default

many thanks pascavone - I hadn't considered leaving the arch and just hinging the radar which, if I could get it fully underneath, would probably give me enough air draught

Cheers Huddo - I look forward to your input
mmwjr - I shall check out Doral and also print out your reply about flooding the bilge for the insurance claim - they may want your contact details lol
nigelbartlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 03:12 AM   #6
Lt. Commander
 
Huddo007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 249
Default

http://www.maxumownersclub.com/forum...-Radar-to-high
Follow that link workes well and only cost about $70
Huddo007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 04:01 AM   #7
Admiral
 
biggerseagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 1,981
Default

Ok guys to clarify....are we trying to hinge just the radar mount on top of the arch or hinge the whole arch itself?

I get the feeling nigel wants to hinge the whole arch and huddo just the radar mount on top of his arch
Which is it?

Roger
biggerseagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:45 AM   #8
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perry Hall, Maryland
Posts: 6,030
Default

Roger, I believe nigel originally was looking to hinge the whole arch but when someone suggest just hinging the radar he agreed that would give him the clearance he requires.

However nigel needs to verify that for himself.
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.