Old 02-01-2011, 02:27 PM   #1
Ensign

Default I bought a lemon

Hi Folks,
This is a shortend version as my last post dissapeared before I could post it.
Anyway. I bought a 1900 SR (1996)last August. I'm new to boating and took a friend with me as it was a private sale. The floor had two soft patches and as I am fairly handy decided to buy it. Had a great couple of months or so untill the water got too cold. (water sports).
On friday I decided to start replacing the floor. To my horror the more I dug the worse it got. To date I have removed the entire bow area (measuring as marking as I go leaving approx 1/2 inch of glass as guides) and the stringers as far as the fuel tank.
My question's are how much resin (Epoxi or what) and mat do I need as I intend coating all panels etc before during and after fitting. Also as we use the boat for wter sports is there an alternative to carpet.
Are there any do's and dont's I should watch out for
I live in Ireland and sourcing some materials my be difficult and more costly.
Thanks in advance

Iain

suziain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 08:26 PM   #2
Admiral

Iain.........since nobody has jumped on this one.........I'll try to help you. ..........I have had little experience with what your going through right now......but. See what you can find on you tube. There should be a bunch of video on what you need to know. I know I have found it very helpfull with stuff I am cueless about.

The carpet issue........I would use carpet. Buy the right wood water proof it correctly....cover the boat when not using it and there is no reason not to have nice cushioney carpet in your boat. Google this and I bet you will get all sorts of video on how to answer your problem........

I know I am not answering your questions directly but atleast this should help you get started.