Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2018, 03:01 PM   #11
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: N. California
Posts: 22
Default

Wow Chuck, great information! Thank you very much, I was hoping to get to the boat this weekend, but our weather here on the west coast is not cooperating. It will be the first project this year though, so I will let you know how it goes. Thanks much!

Mike
__________________

Elvertamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 03:38 PM   #12
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,117
Default

Funny how they only drilled a wire chse through the Stbd arch and not the port. Rather than drilling you could run it down the stbd side of the arch, then route into the engine compartment, run it across the top of the bulkhead tucked under the lip of the deck hatch drain and then up the port side in the chase along with the rest of the electrical and plumbing.


Buy a 25' fishing tape and some 'cable lube'. It makes running wires mu simpler. If you really want to go above and beyond run a 'pull cord' at the same time. Now, any time you need to run a wire, you can run a new wire and a new pull cord. pull the new wire and new pull cord with the old pull cord and never have to fish again. (I just use the fishing tape).
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 03:16 AM   #13
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: N. California
Posts: 22
Default

Thank you Shrew, you sure give me some options with some great details.

Thank you much!

Mike
Elvertamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 06:27 AM   #14
Ensign
 
Nußhäher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 11
Default

Cool idea about the pull cord, shrew. Thanks!
Nußhäher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 11:54 AM   #15
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 51
Default My experience on antenna wiring

I found that the starboard hole for the radar arch was not large enough to run additional wires, but I have a bigger concern to consider. The signal running on the coax cable is susceptible to electrical interference from the engine and other electronics on-board. You really do want to keep the cable run as short as possible and away from anything else that has electrical running to it. Running that cable through the engine compartment exposes it to a lot of "noisy" (in electric and radio frequency terms) areas, particularly with the alternator and electronic ignition. It would be a shame to get all that work done only to find a buzz or tapping sound coming through your speakers...
__________________
- Chuck
cbswaim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 03:09 PM   #16
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: N. California
Posts: 22
Default

Yeah, I am going to try and go the port route. I will try and make the shortest and most direct path as possible. Thank you for the great information, it all makes good sense!

Mike
Elvertamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 09:35 PM   #17
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: N. California
Posts: 22
Default

Hi Chuck:

I finally had time to work a little on the cable run. I was able to get the antenna mounted on the arch and have cable run down to the base of the arch on port side. I see now that the arch is just bolted to the boat with no access for the rest of the cable run to the cabin area. Is this where you say to drill a hole into the body of the boat? If so, how big of a hole worked for you, just enough to get the cable through or did you drill something larger? Sorry, to keep bugging you on this, but I am a little Leary of drilling holes in a boat, if you know what I mean... Thank you Sir!
Elvertamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 10:05 PM   #18
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: N. California
Posts: 22
Default

Quick update, was able to finish the cable run this past weekend. Mounted the 15" Seawatch HD antenna on top of the radar arch. Ran cable down through the arch port side. Had to remove the speaker access cover on the arch in order to run the cable from the top down through to the base of the arch. When I got to the base of the arch and body of the boat, there is no access holes. I did drill a 3/8" hole down through the base of the arch into the open cavity of the boat on the port side. I then was able to run the coax into that hole hanging it down into the body of the boat. By taking the vent cover at the top of the main breaker panel off, I was able to fish a long wire hanger back up to the base of the arch and snag that dangling coax (took several attempts and adjustments, but finally got it done). Once I was able to pull cable through the top of the breaker cabinet, it was smooth sailing to the rear closet area. I was able to easily slip the cable in between the back of the cabinets and the inside wall of the cabin. Next step is to mount the TV like cbswaim did above. Everybody has been so very helpful! Thank You!
__________________

Elvertamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.