Old 02-26-2008, 06:38 PM   #1
Lieutenant

Default What are you paying for annual/100 hr service?

Hi All

I was just quoted $589 for the annual/100 hr service. Change the engine oil and filter, change the outdrive oil, change the fuel filter, new cooling water impeller, new spark plugs, grease the gimbal and drive splines and a general check up on everything in the engine compartment. I was told there might be an extra charge because I requested premium (Quicksilver) lubricants for the outdrive and grease points. Whats up with that??

Seems high to me. But I am new to outdrives so maybe I am out of touch with the industry service rates on these rascals. I would really like to do it myself but the marina doesn't allow the common folk to play with oil. I imagine they are afraid of spills and disposal problems on the property.

So what is everyone paying to have this type of annual/100 hr service?

Thanks

- 2004 Maxum 2400 SD (traded in August '09)
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 07:12 PM   #2
Admiral

pretty much the same thing...my shop charges about 109 bucks an hr...so...the changing the oil and filters is easy for me to do..but pulling the drive to check alignment isn't possible since I don't have the jack to lift it and remove the drive...and with a b3 drive..I don't have a wrench big enough to pull the props to grease the splines.....

I'd say they are close.....within a few bucks...next oil change..maybe you can do it yourself and replace all the filters..fuel..oil..etc....save some denaro here and there...

Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 10:20 AM   #3
Lt. Commander

Send a message via MSN to Brit Rider