Old 05-07-2012, 11:38 PM   #1
Lt. JG

Default Spring Commissioning Novice - what can I do myself??

Hi all,
I'm new to the group,
I have a 2000 Maxum 3000 SCR with about 400hrs & I'd like to do as much of the spring commissioning myself, but I'm still a novice with the express cruiser style boat and all it's systems. The dealer winterized all systems & shrink-wrapped, plus I had them keep all 3 batteries charged. The bottom paint may just need a touch up; but how involved is starting up the water system, head, water heater hook up, A/C, checking for leaks, etc? Seems simple enough, but I didn't want to miss the obvious or screw anything up, which I'm prone to doing! For instance, I know the water heater can't be run without any water, but do I just fill up the water tank & just open up all the spouts to run out the antifreeze and does the hot water tank/heater just auto-fill itself once the cold water is pressurized or are there hoses to hook up back to the heater as well? I cant find any guide thats helpful with this stuff specific to my boat, not even the owners manual covers any of it, & the dealer and/or yard loves to put fear & doubt in the minds of novices in order to pad the bill. Plus they want 150.00 just to start her up and check the engines. For example, what should I look for when starting them up other than obvious leaks, or smoke & flames? I'm thinking about changing the drive oil in my Bravo II's (I've done it on large & small outboards & I've watched it done on YouTube on outdrives & looks simple enough), then I'd change the engine oil& filters (twin 5.0L's) once it's launched via sucking it out thru the dipstick tubes. Not sure about how to change fuel filters or even where they are. Only put a few hrs on last season (maybe 10hrs) b/c we traded up mid-season & most of the hours were put on by the dealer in order to correct stbd engine overheat issue which is hopefully now corrected (they had a tough time figuring it out, as they changed the stbd elb