Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Maxum Maintenance
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 09-26-2006, 03:04 AM   #1
Ensign

Default I need a little help winterizing

I am pretty new to the Boating world and I am looking to winterize my boat for the first time myself. I have a Maxum 2400 SD with a 5.0 Mercruiser Can someone help out with some tips
Thanks John

Laroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:46 AM   #2
Lt. Commander

Default Winterizing

I have an excellent Marine mechanic in the Northern Va Area, called Harbin Marine ( its on Rt 1 just before the Occoquan). For a price thats lower than my time is worth they do the following:
Fully drain all water from engine, change oil and oil filter, lube outdrive, fog engine, remove battery, remove Lowrance electronics, install silica packets throughout boat, and finally shrink wrap the whole shooting match with enough plastic that it is encapsulated all the way round to the bunks on the bottom. They usually place a 2x4 post in the middle so there is a tent like appearance to the finished cocoquened boat. I get everything he has removed from the boat in a cardboard box. The battery goes in the garage and gets a trickle charger applied once a month throughout the winter months. The only request he makes of me is to empty out the fluid in the porta potti, which is usually done with a trip to the pump out station before taking the boat to his shop.

On opening the package this year it was as dry as a Desert zypher inside. For opening season he has a set of procedures that he does that involve trailer maintenance and engine tune-ups and as I indicated the whole package is reasonable to the point that I don't see how anyone could pass it up. I've tried to list all the things he performs, but may have missed one. The bottom line is that Shrink Wrap IMHO is the way to go.

Hope this helps.

KKKKFL

Franco_2100SC is offline   Reply With Quote