Old 04-28-2008, 06:39 PM   #1

Default Getting Ready for Spring-What to do(?)

Hi,
I'm new to the forum and while I've been the child of boaters all my life, I'm new to being a boat owner. I just bought a 1997 2800 SCR with the 7.4L. I admit I never paid attention when I was a kid, so I'm a bit clueless as to what I should be doing before I finally put the boat in the water.

Here's what i've done so far:

1) sanded and bottom painted hull and outdrive
2) replaced outdrive and trim tab zinc's
3) replaced rotar, distributor cap, wires and plugs.
4) used a cleaner wax to remove light oxidation from unpainted portions of the hull and decks, then finish waxed and buffed everything.
5) Replaced the impeller and outdrive fluid.
6) Topped off batteries and charged them.

Plan to do:

1) Replace the coil
2) Change Oil & Filter

My 7.4L is Fesh Water Cooled. What am I missing? What do I need to do for the rest of the systems? Should I be replacing the fuel filter/water seperator?

I want to make sure I'm not overlooking anything and any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 07:02 PM   #2
Admiral