Old 08-13-2008, 09:47 PM   #1
Lieutenant

Default Cooling system 2000 1800 sr with 4.3merc

Hi i am now the proud owner of a 2000 maxum 1800sr with a 4.3l v6 mercruiser engine,i havent got a manual yet and trying to get to grips with some stuff!! Was wondering if there is a seperate cooling reservoir on this engine, i cant find any pressure caps etc only thing i can see is a metal threaded plug on top of the water pump behind the pulley??? Is the engine cooled only by the water it takes in thru the vents a the bottom of the leg??? I have noticed some blue twist caps around the engine and when i remove them water comes out, should i drain these after every use??? I am a complete novice on this kind of set up as i have only owned small outboard engines before, any help will be hugely appreciated.

thanks
grant

Old 08-13-2008, 10:09 PM   #2
Admiral

welcome to the zoo...that's a nice boat for sure...you can contact maxum for an owners manual up in arlington wa.
as for your cooling system...if you don't have a plastic bottle on or near the engine...and a big tank across the front of the engine..then yes..your raw water cooled....meaning the water is pulled up from the leg or outdrive...pushed thru the engine and exhaust manifolds...and then out the bottom of the transome mount where the drive penetrates the transome bulkhead......
the first thing you want to do besides change all the oils....is to pull the lower unit off and replace the impeller on the outdrive...if you don't feel comfortable with that...take it to a service ctr and have a mechanic do it..it only takes about a half hr to an hr to pull the drive..replace the impeller and replace the drive along with the drive oil.....

so..hope this helps....
keep comin here!!...we're a good bunch for maxum to have around...

SP

Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!