Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2018, 07:24 AM   #1
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 49
Default cabin lights wireing

when replacing the t10 bulbs in the cabin with leds i must have pulled the wireing causing it to break somewhere. result no light in the cabin however toilet and aft sleeping compartment lights still work.

before i do any more damage.. how to pragamatically go about fixing this?
__________________

crus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 09:29 AM   #2
Lt. Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 130
Default

Is it possible you installed the led with the polarity reversed? Unlike traditional bulbs, leds do have a specific positive and negative lead.
__________________

jparsons121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 10:36 AM   #3
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jparsons121 View Post
Is it possible you installed the led with the polarity reversed? Unlike traditional bulbs, leds do have a specific positive and negative lead.
absolutely possible... i had no idea.
so i should check the fuses? where are those located?
crus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 02:22 PM   #4
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crus View Post
absolutely possible... i had no idea.
so i should check the fuses? where are those located?
Reversing the wires on a LED most likely will not blow a fuse, just try reversing the two wires to see if it works. You can also use a volt meter and see if 12V is present at the light fixture.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 02:35 PM   #5
Commander
 
Gugi47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lancaster Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crus View Post
absolutely possible... i had no idea.
so i should check the fuses? where are those located?
Just take the T 10 out turn around and install it again. (change the polarity)
__________________
If they respect you, respect them. If they disrespect you, still respect them. Do not allow the action of others to decrease your good manner, because you represent yourself not others.
-2001 Maxum 2100 SR2 Sport -1997 Regal 258 Commodore (Sold)
Gugi47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 05:36 PM   #6
Commander
 
donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: N.Calif.
Posts: 263
Default

As Gugi47 said just remove bulbs and install after turning them 180 deg.
I did the same thing when I upgraded to LEDs.
Don
__________________
1995 Maxum 2400 SCR 5.7 A1 G2 LUNA DE MIEL
1988 Bayliner 2455 5.0 IO (sold)
1987 Seaswerl 18ft C. Cabin 4.3 IO(lost in fire)
1976 16ft. Tahiti 2.5 IO (sold)
donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 02:14 PM   #7
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,187
Default

T10 bulbs should be screw in. G4 lights have pins. I don't believe the circuit goes THROUGH the light itself like an old set of christmas tree lights.

The circuit will be from the light switch to the last light in that circuit. Take a volt meter, remove the first light and disconnect and test it with the light switch turned on. Determine if you're getting 12v. Now move to the next light. The space between where you're getting 12v and where you're not is where the circuit is broken.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 03:08 PM   #8
Commander
 
Gugi47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Lancaster Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
T10 bulbs should be screw in. G4 lights have pins. I don't believe the circuit goes THROUGH the light itself like an old set of christmas tree lights.

The circuit will be from the light switch to the last light in that circuit. Take a volt meter, remove the first light and disconnect and test it with the light switch turned on. Determine if you're getting 12v. Now move to the next light. The space between where you're getting 12v and where you're not is where the circuit is broken.
https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...bulbs&_sacat=0
__________________
If they respect you, respect them. If they disrespect you, still respect them. Do not allow the action of others to decrease your good manner, because you represent yourself not others.
-2001 Maxum 2100 SR2 Sport -1997 Regal 258 Commodore (Sold)
Gugi47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:19 PM   #9
Lt. JG
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 49
Default

ok, i should have thought about the measuring current first ofcourse.
will try that first.

anyone know where the fusebox is located in case i get no current?

@Gugi47,
yes those are the ones im trying to install.
crus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 02:53 PM   #10
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,187
Default

Fuse block should be beneath the helm
__________________

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.