Old 06-29-2013, 04:10 AM   #1
Ensign

Default Starter motor problems?

Can anyone tell me if replacing my starter motor is something I can handle? I am not a mechanic, but have mechanical skills. I do a lot of maintenance on me Mercruiser 5.7 I/o myself. I've replaced cap/rotor/plugs and wires in the past and have replaced thermostat among other things. I believe I have a starter problem, since my batteries show a charge on the ammmeter and they were on trickle charge all winter. Usually when the batteries are dead, there is a clicking or nothing at all when you turn the key. I get a quick attempt at a start by the motor, but watching the serpentine belt it moves about 1 inch. I can turn the key repeatedly 4 or 5 times and quickly turn it back and each time the motor will do as described above. Any ideas? Thanks all.

Harley31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 11:08 AM   #2
Admiral

Harley31 it sounds like the starter may be working if the engine tries to turn over. It kind of sound like the engine is hydo locked (water in cylinders). Remove the spark plugs and see if water comes out then see if engine will turn over either by turning the key or using a breaker bar and socket on the center crank pulley bolt. If you can't turn it using the breaker bar with the spark plugs removed I am afraid the engine is lock up.

Let us know what you find out.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:38 PM   #3
Ensign