Old 07-18-2019, 12:26 AM   #21
Lt. JG

https://photos.app.goo.gl/NWEJdxVUX1KgyUCm9

Here is a video of the engine running. Let me know if you here a knock. Thanks again for all your help guys. It’s greatly appreciated!

LaborOfLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 01:49 AM   #22
Admiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaborOfLove View Post
I’m no expert, for sure, but I don’t hear anything that sounds unusual to me. Ugh on the starboard side. Hard to get back there! Do they go bad? Engine was sitting for 5 years before last year. Thus far lots of parts have needed replacing.
No they typically don’t go bad.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 01:52 AM   #23
Admiral

No I don’t hear any knocking. If you have the engine serial number you can go to Mercruiser parts on line to look up part numbers.

Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 01:41 AM   #24
Lt. JG

Thx. Quick update. I was down today and tested the knock sensor. Connected volt meter to the purple/white wire that also is used to ground out for base timing. That had 9 volts on it. I compared to the other strong running motor which also had 9v. I also swapped the icu’s, and everything checked out the same. Thinking that means my issue is not related to the knock sensor or system.
Old 07-19-2019, 11:47 PM   #25
Captain

Now that you know the knock sensor is getting voltage, the next step is to see if the knock sensor works properly. Knock sensor test is in the service manual in section 5B.
Have you tried 89 or 91 octane fuel? Higher octane fuel may smooth out the engine some.
jrsick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 01:02 AM   #26
Lt. JG