Old 04-05-2012, 10:55 AM   #1
Captain

Default milky engine oil

I just has the mainfolds replaced on my 7.4 MPI and had sea water in my motor oil.

The engine is fresh water cooled, with no loss in fluid, and the plugs are clean and dry, so its not a cracked bloack or leaking head.

I'm guessing my oil cooler which is feed by raw water is leaking.

I noticed oil slick floating behind the boat, luckly i had change the oil and the boat only moved 30 feet to the slip.

pascavone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 12:36 PM   #2
MCM
Lieutenant

Alright...I'm no mechanic, but none of that sounds good.

"Aurora" 1996 Maxum 3200 SCR - Poulsbo, WA
MCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:11 PM   #3
Captain

Yes, that why changing oil in the fall is a good idea, so if you had water, it would not sit in the pan all winter and rust.

I had change the oil weeks before, but the oil cooler is 12 years old, and you have high pressue oil running thu a heat exchange in the raw water line.

The oil is at a higher pressure and will push oil into the raw cooling low pressue, and when you stop the engine it will seep back.

also note, you have a fuel cooler, and a power steering cooler doing the same thing.

better it happen now then out on the high seas.....
Old 04-05-2012, 08:12 PM   #4
Captain

ok, took the oil cooler off and pressure tested it to 60 psi, all seam fine, put it back on.

Drained all the oil from the pan screw, and changed the oil filter.

Since I'm not losing anti freeze in my fresh water cooled engine block, I'm guessing its my new exhaust mainfold I has just installed.

I'm going to refill the oil, drop the water hoses to the mainfolds and run the engine a bit and then see if the oil stay clear.
Old 04-06-2012, 01:07 AM   #5
Admiral