Old 07-28-2008, 04:57 PM   #1

Default Max RPM's and average Speed for a 97 2800 SCR

Hi, I'm fairly new to being a boat owner as well as to this site, although I have posted a few times. My name is Steve and I boat in the New England area (Long Island Sound out of New London, Ct.).

I have a '97 2800 SCR with a single 7.4. The engine max. RPM's are listed as 4,200 - 4,600. I can never seem to get the boat above 4,000 rpm's. At 3,200 RPM's, I'm crusing at an average of 22 kts. The boat comes onto plane a bit slowly, but I suppose 'slowly' is relative. With full fuel, water and 4 adults it is VERY HARD to bring on plane.

I'm trying to get a feel for what should be average for the boat, as opposed for average for 'my' boat. Anyone out there running a similar boat/engine combination? What do you expect to see for average speeds for various RPM's? What is the optimum RPM's for a cruising, and at what speed?

I'm also a bit concerned about the starting sequence. To start, I need to put the throttle into neutral, then give it 3 pumps from 1/4 to full back to 1/4. Then turn and hold the key for about 20 seconds to allow the choke to actuate (listening to that aweful alarm test in the process). Then turn and hold the ignition letting the engine turn over. With the engine turning over, I slowly increase throttle until the engine catches and starts. Most of the time, it won't start until I'm almost WFO. Once it starts, I pull back the throttle back to 1/4 to drop the RPM's and let the engine warm up.
This model 7.4L has a mechanical fuel pump. I've changed the belts and made sure the belt is tight. I don't believe this is a fuel delivery problem.

Is this a typical starting procedure and typical starting behavior?

For all i know the boat is runnign beautifully, I'm just trying to determine a good baseline.

Thanks in advance.

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 07:31 PM   #2
Admiral