Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Engines
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-04-2013, 04:43 PM   #1
Admiral

Default Hard Start When Warm

Hi all~

Engine is a 2004 6.2L MPI Merc with about 450 hours (if that matters).

Issue is that is starts and runs great when cold but once it gets up to temp it just cranks and will not start unless I give it almost full throttles.

It sounds to me like it is starving for air when warm but then i am not a mechanic. I told my mechanic this and he checked the IAC and it checked out alright. It is not throwing any codes.

I just had a full tune up done and no change. Any suggestions where to look next?

Phillbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:23 PM   #2
Admiral

Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd

My first guess would have been the IAC but since that supposedly checks out....

Perhaps temp sensor or throttle position sensor. Both feed the ECC and if either are providing bad information the computer will map out a fuel mixture for a condition that doesn't actually exist. Might also be the fuel pressure regulator or possibly the fuel pump - both are easy to check with a pressure gauge.

Dan

ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 01:58 AM   #3
Lt. Commander

I agree with Dan on the fuel pressure regulator....good luck!
rodrigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 02:29 AM   #4
Ensign

LT. Phillbo, Did the fuel Pressure Regulator fix the problem? I have a 2001 Maxum 3000 SCR with Duel 5.7L engines. Same problem. It will start up and run fine cold, but will not start after sitting in the 1/2 day. It seems to be fuel related, since squirting some starting fluid get's it to pop a few times. Also I notice that occasionally the RPM gauge will jump up by 1500 rpm's, the engine speed did not change.

Please let me know if the pressure regulator fixed your problem.

Thanks The Web 2
The Web Two is offline   Reply With Quote