Old 05-07-2010, 01:57 PM   #1
Ensign

Question Cross referencing parts/gaskets

Hey there, I am a new boat owner, not a new boater. I am a well experienced mechanic. I am already learning that if you are looking for a part for a "mercruiser 5.7" you are going to pay three times more than a part for 70something chevy. I know some parts you need marine issue, but belts and gaskets...etc. I am trying to find what base gasket cross references into the auto industry for a mercarb. I have a 2 barrel 1996 5.7. Does anyone know what car used that rochester base shape? Thanks

Indymek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 02:55 PM   #2

What a blast! Somthing to consider using non marinized parts......
Specially in the fuel system, Every boater should check out this link.... http://www.boattest.com/Resources/vi...px?NewsID=4103
I'll bet the buyers were impressed to say the least!! Regarding maintenance and inspection of our marine fuel systems: It's like voting in Chicago; DO IT EARLY, AND OFTEN!!!!!

Bella Sera

Bella Sera 3300SCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 10:05 PM   #3
Admiral

Too funny BS

but true...if it's meant for a car...keep it on the car...There's a reason for these things costing so much and being named mercruiser.....it's cuz they are coast guard approved.....a belt or piece of hose is one thing....ANYTHING to do with the fuel or electrical systems must be marine grade...welcome to the zoo....but please don't mix components from the auto world...it could ruin your day...

SP
Par Excellence
------------------------------
2008 Bayliner 340 - "Wild Whim"
--------------------------------------
I live in my own little world....but it's okay-they know me here!!!

Avid practitioner of the martial art: KLIK-PAO.
Tap-Rack-Bang

Anyone that sez "Size doesn't matter" has never owned a boat!
seapuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 07:59 PM   #4
Lt. JG