Old 09-28-2012, 07:53 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Alternator not charging

Hello all, I am new to the boating world. I have a problem where my alternator is not charging my battery. I bought a different alternator and i have the same problem. This is on a 5.7l mercruiser. I would like to know how to test the alternaotr to see if it is actually working. Or any other ideas of why it doesnt seem to want to charge.

Also twice now all my gauges seem to freak out and an audible alarm goes off and stays on till I disconnect the battery. Does anyone know what that alarm is for?

Thankyou

Andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 09:47 PM   #2

2 alternators and the same problem. Do you have 1 battery or 2? Have you put a meter on the alternator to confirm it's putting out voltage?

shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:54 AM   #3
Captain

Your alternator is working.....

You bought a boat with a short in it. This is why people sell boats.

not to worry, we can track it down. Your gauges freaking is the intermit short, shorting out, other wise you every thing is fine.

First:
1. never run on both batteries.
2. disconnect all wire off the battery, let it sit over night, to make sure the batteries are good the next day.
3. connect one wire back at a time, one day at a time at the dock. You will enerigize each curcuit one, by one, until the problem happens again.
4. after you try it on all those wires hanging off the battery post, then then next step is to pull all the fuses under the dash, and then install them back one by one, to enerigize each curcuit.

It's not the engine harness, since the engine did not die.
It could be as simple as a shorted horn, or the carbonmoxided decetor past its 5 year life.
wigggle all wires you can get your hands on and look for burned or hot to the touch.