Old 09-13-2010, 05:02 AM   #1
Ensign

Default 7.4 No Start

I have the 7.4 MPI/Bravo III combo. I have a fully charged 1150amp battery and suddenly I only get a loud click and no starter rotation at all. Probably needs a solenoid and maybe a starter too. It looks like I will need to pull the exhaust manifold to get in there. Sound normal? Any suggestions are welcome. I am fairly new to this type of boat but have a lot of experience with cars.

gbsillars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 12:56 PM   #2
Admiral

Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd

GB,

Not to sound all dooms dayish but if this happened all of a sudden first make sure you can turn the engine over by hand with a long breaker bar.

No different from a car really, just follow all the usual troubleshooting steps. Test battery, ensure all your battery cable connections are clean and tight, etc-etc.

Dan

ss3964spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 01:37 PM   #3

If you hear a loud 'click' the click IS the solenoid. You can theoretically bypass the solenoid. I would suspect the the starter here. Make sure you have a good positive connection and ground. You should be able to meter the solenoid as well as the starter to determine where the break in the circuit is. I had a similar problem a couple of years ago and it turned out to be a corroded postive connector on the starter. The problem was intermittant but getting worse with time. Once the postive cable to the start was completely replaced I never experienced the issue again.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 03:22 PM   #4
Admiral

Send a message via Yahoo to ss3964spd

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrew View Post
If you hear a loud 'click' the click IS the solenoid.