Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-29-2012, 01:13 AM   #1
Lieutenant

Default New Radio Head Unit Suggestions and information

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneradride View Post
jrings... you might want to start your own thread just not to confuse the two subjects....

In my humble opinion and I know others feel differently... Marine grade is for hard core shrimpers and the like... chances are your stereo is NEVER going to see water or even mist for that matter......I've been building boat audio systems for over 20 years and NEVER have had a normal car stereo fail, not even once.

All new stereos come with an included specific harness. You may have to make it work with your boat, but it will have one. The installation package is typically a kit to make it fit in various vehicles. Assuming you don't have a shafted radio... then you have a DIN, 7 by 2 inches. they will all work and you should need no "kit" because the sleeve that is included will accommodate the new unit.

As suggested I started a new thread in my quest to find a way to improve the sound in my 2004 2400SR Bowrider. I am looking to replace my current head unit with something newer that has preamp outs that would allow me to eventually add an amplifier. Some of the other features that sound interesting are USB outs, Bluetooth, Iphone/Android connectivity etc... I am not looking to be able to get stupid loud but I would like to be able to easily hear the radio while cruising... Any suggestions as far as brand or specific head units?

jrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 01:59 AM   #2
Lt. Commander

I'm not sure what USB outs are but a single USB input is invaluable in my option. They NEVER skip like CD's do. MP3 input is also awesome, same deal.. never skip and just adds more versatility.