Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2019, 08:45 AM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 6
Default Maxum 2700se navigation and anchor well lights not working

Hi all,

This one is baffling me. Before I put up the flag and get an electrician involved I want to run it by everyone to see if it triggers any memories.

My boat (which I do love) has suddenly stopped supporting my night time activities as both the anchor well light and navigation lights have stopped working.

Behaviour is if I turn the anchor light switch on, the switch lights up but the anchor well light doesn’t. If I turn on the navigation lights the anchor light switch goes out and the navigation light switch does not light up and the lights stay dark.

I have checked the switches and navigation light end and confirm that I get the voltage to the switches and to the anchor light. When I turn the navigation light switch though I lose the voltage reading and I never get the forward run switches getting a voltage reading.

The only thing I can think is maybe the navigation light has either blown or contacts are corroded. Checking the actual navigation light is my last thing to do before I give up. Why I think this maybe the case is that the anchor well light and navigation lights are companion so the anchor light does not come on unless the navigation lights are on.

I have to say that getting into the wiring in the anchor well is not fun a for a fat fingered guy like me but everything seemed clean in there. Double checked in case i had disconnected something accidentally ��

Any thoughts would be hugely appreciated

Cheers

David
2009 Maxum 2700se, mag 350
__________________

davlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 11:14 AM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 7,283
Default

Since you loose voltage at the Nav switch when turned on I would assume there is a short but one of high resistance since the fuse doesnít blow. With power off measure the output of the Nav switch to the anchor switch to see if they are shorted.
__________________

__________________
1997 2400 SCR
5.7 Vortec / Bravo 2
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 11:30 AM   #3
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post
Since you loose voltage at the Nav switch when turned on I would assume there is a short but one of high resistance since the fuse doesnít blow. With power off measure the output of the Nav switch to the anchor switch to see if they are shorted.
Thanks Mike, great suggestion and will check it out and let you know how it goes!
davlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 12:58 PM   #4
Moderator

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,481
Default

Voltmeter. Start at the switches and work back to the panel, then out to the devices.
shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.