Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2015, 11:19 PM   #1
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default Maxum 2100 SC2 - Tachometer not working

Hi everyone!

I'm having a problem with the tachometer on my 00' Maxum 2100 SC2.
The needle doesn't work but the built-in hourmeter works.

Any suggestions? (The engine works and makes noise... )

Thank you.
__________________

Sonojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 11:54 PM   #2
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,439
Default

Try removing and cleaning the S wire and terminal.

Any movement?
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 09:40 PM   #3
Lieutenant
 
Sled600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Everett wa
Posts: 90
Default

I had the same issue. I Replaced the tach and all was well. I did check with a meter that can read a tach signal to confirm I had a tach signal to the dash first.
Sled600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 11:38 PM   #4
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmwjr View Post
Try removing and cleaning the S wire and terminal.



Any movement?

Did it... and no improvement.
Sonojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 12:27 AM   #5
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,439
Default

As Sled said but a volt meter on the sense wire to look for a voltage, it's a pulse so the meter will display the average of the pulse. If present replace the tach.
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 11:13 PM   #6
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the help.
If I understood correctly, I may use a voltmeter connected to the Sig and Gnd, to check any voltage.
This way any problem with the wiring could be detected.
Sonojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 12:57 AM   #7
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,439
Default

Correct
__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 10:56 PM   #8
Ensign
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default

After some research, found the Faria Troubleshooting Guide. It might be useful.
I'm going to try tomorrow and see if I can fix the tachometer.

http://faria-instruments.com/site_ma...pair_guide.pdf
Sonojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 12:37 AM   #9
Admiral
 
mmwjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, Maryland
Posts: 6,439
Default

Good luck and post how it goes
__________________

__________________
Mike
mmwjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.